RSS

New Books !!

19 Jul

photo(16)

 

L´ Immoraliste (1902)

The story of a man, Michel, who travels through Europe and North Africa attempting to pass beyond the limits of conventional morality at the time. When this book was published it was considered shocking. I will be curious how shocking it is in terms of today’s morals. I  was inspired to read  André Gide  via  Claire’s  blogpost about French Literature on Word by Word.

Updike (2014)

Classic American writer who I have never read.  John Updike  saw himself as a literary spy in surburban  America.  He was the ‘golden boy’ at The New Yorker for years and is known for  Rabbit,Run; Rabbit Redux; Rabbit Is Rich and Rabbit at Rest. This looks  like a great biography!

O, Louis (2014) 

This is the new book from the Dutch sport journalist  Hugo Borst. I don’t  have to tell you how proud we all are in The Netherlands of the Dutch Soccer team during the World Championship in Brazil.  Now it is time to learn more about the man who has  guided our ‘dream team’,  Louis van Gaal.  He has a great track record winning championships  with clubs as Barcelona and Bayern-Munchen. Let’s see what he can do for Manchester United.  There are going to be some changes  made in Manchester, that’s for sure!

Buvard  (2014)

I discoverd  Buvard  via Pauline’s  website Critiques de Livres. She is my ‘ go to blog’  when I’m searching for a contemporary French  book to read. As you can see on the cover it was awarded the Prix Françoise Sagan  2014. This is a literary prize started in 2010 to honor the memory of Françoise Sagan. The award is for a novel or novella in French by a writer who has  yet to win any major literary prizes during the year. I’m anxious to discover  this  author, Julia Kerninon

The Cuckoo´s Calling  (2013)

The Cuckoo’s Calling is my  ‘take a chance’  selection. Colin was so enthusiastic about this book on his blog The Only Way is Reading.   I never heard of the author Robert Galbraith and that is no surprise. It is the pseudonym for J.K. Rowling!

De Velzer Affaire  (2013)  

De Velzer Affaire  has been nominiated for the best  history book in The Netherlands,  Libris Geschiedenis Prijs 2014. This was a complot in Velzen ( town in Holland) where by the police and resistance  were involved.  I had never heard of this part of Dutch history. There are  still many unanswered questions about this conspiracy. Thanks to  private donations a large amount of money was gathered so that  Bas von Benda-Beckmann  could  investigate the affaire.

Shah of Shah’s  (1982)  

Shah of Shahs  was written by  Polish journalist  Ryszard KapuścińskiIt is an  analysis of the decline and fall of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, the last Shah of Iran. I contacted a friend who lives in Poland and she tells me Ryszard  was  one of their most famous journalists!  I was read Louise’s  review at Goodreads and knew this book was a ‘must read’ for me as a history lover!

The 13 Clocks  (1950)

The 13 Clocks is a fantasy tale written by James Thurber. The story is noted for Thurber’s constant, complex wordplay, and his use of occasional hidden rhyme. By the time he wrote this book, Thurber was blind, so he could not draw cartoons for the book. Thurber made  Marc Simont describe all his illustrations to him.  I´m reading this book inspired by Cleo´s website Children´s Classic Books Carousel. I always loved Thurber stories with his zany illustrations of chubby, bossy wives, thin, spineless husbands and mischevious dogs!

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “New Books !!

  1. Ste J

    July 20, 2014 at 11:34

    Louis will certainly make things interesting in the Premier League this year, I’m particularly interested on which young players he brings through.

    Shah of Shahs has been on my list for ages, I read The Soccer War which is not just about football but after the central American title story, everything else is pretty much about Africa and he is a really good read, thank you for reminding me of him all over again.

     
    • N@ncy

      July 20, 2014 at 12:43

      I think Ryszard Kapuscinski will be one of my ‘discoveries’ of 2014. I ordered his book Shadow of the Sun and The Soccer War sounds great too! Keeping a close eye on Man U this year. Louis van Gaal is determined to bring on young players and cut out ‘the dead wood’. I’m curious which Man U players will be looking for a new team soon!

       
      • Ste J

        July 20, 2014 at 19:16

        After last years showing a lot of them I would imagine, it was amazing that Ferguson got such a mediocre team to win the Premiership when all the other big teams seemed stronger. I think it will be more dynamic team this year.

        I think I will have to get some more Kapuscinski as well and compare notes with you, he seems to have written a lot so I am looking forward to more fascinating insights.

         
  2. TracyK

    July 23, 2014 at 20:28

    Looks like a good and varied group of books. I just recently purchased The Cuckoo´s Calling and it is a “take a chance” book for me too.

     
    • N@ncy

      July 23, 2014 at 20:47

      I’m going to try to read all these books….just could not resist starting UPDIKE. Hope to read your review of Cuckkoo’s Calling…..

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

