RSS

Lawrence in Arabia

14 Jan

book 2

Author:   Scott Anderson  spent four years researching T.E. Lawrence  with  the help of many, many people. This author is unknown to me.  The book was chosen as one of the best of 2013 by The New York Times. I want to know why.

Genre:    History

Title:  Lawrence in Arabia:  War, Deceit, Imperial Folly and the Making of the Modern Middle East

Table of Contents:    3 parts,  18 chapters and 495  pages

Book/Printing/Cover/ Dedication:   The book  was published in 2013 by Doubleday.  The cover is a disappointment, non-descript desert scene. Dedication is to family members.

Timeline:   1914 – 1918

Setting:  Middle Eastern Front WW I

Themes: Geopolitical power  struggles  b/t Triple Entente  and the Central Powers in Middle East.

Trivia: Film Lawrence of Arabia ( 1962) was upon its release a huge critical and financial success . There are striking visuals, dramatic music, literate screenplay and superb performance by Peter O’Toole. The  film as a whole is widely considered one of the greatest films ever made.

 

lawrence_of_arabia_45_1024x768-6

Storyline:

  • T.E. Lawrence’s military achievements, his major campaigns  and the impact that his influence had on shaping the war in the Middle East during WW I.
  • Lawrence quickly rose to prominence following the outbreak of the Arab Revolt in 1916.
  • His skills in Arab languages were essential  in helping him  gather widespread local support and building up the Arab Northern Army.
  • He pioneered new tactics, which would shape British strategy four decades later.

What was the most powerful weapon  on the Middle Eastern Front of WW I?

Communications.

Lawrence would prove very adept at using both the advances and deficiencies in communication to his advantage. He breached protocol to get messages to his allies. His favorite excuse was “garbled transmission” when he conveniently failed to receive undesired orders. (pg 210). Lawrence went so far as to  reveal the secret plan in the Sykes-Picot Agreement to Faisal. Divulging of a secret treaty to a third party was considered an act of treason! Lawrence was willing to destroy himself for the good of Faisal and Arabia. (pg 270)

Lawrence

Weak point:

There was no list   of ‘Key Characters’.  Keeping track of ‘who’s who’ is exhausting in complicated historical situations. I also would have liked more detailed maps. The book’s inside covers give only  simple sketches of the  Middle Eastern Front. I also skimmed the chapter before reading it to discover the  reoccuring trend. Anderson switches scenes among the key players.  Now I know what to expect which makes reading easier.

Strong point:

Every chapters begins with a  quote.  I like this because it helps me “while reading.  I ask myself the question: Why is this compelling? With those words in minds  I start reading…..

Strong point:  Epilogue is a good summation of what has taken place since the end of WW I in the Middle East!

 

Conclusion:

I was not prepared for this book.  It is my own fault. I thought the title was Lawrence of Arabia and expected the ‘story about the man’. To my chagrin the title is “Lawrence IN Arabia. That explains the extensive geopolitical theme in the book.

Considering the millions of words that have been written about Lawrence of Arabia, Scott Anderson has incorporated  other people who were involved in the Middle Eastern Front WW I . These characters,  an American aristocrat,  a German scholar and a Jewish scientist  give the narrative a ‘small fresh jolt’.

Still, the main focus was on Lawrence. He had an affinity for and an understanding of the Arab culture. His extensive medieval military knowledge helped him in the Arabian Peninsula. Even today his military tactics are studied at West Point!

My knowledge about  the Middle  Eastern Front WW I  was nihil.  It took time to appreciate Anderson’s book which brings me to my reading policy “give the book a chance.”   It is not always the book that is the problem, it’s me.  I decided to read the book ‘critically’.  With that I mean ask my self questions like: “What does this mean?”  Why is the author drawing this conclusion?”   “Do  I agree/disagree?

This takes time and effort but I must say  I have no regrets. The book was a pleasure to read once I was in the right mindset.

This is my first book about T.E. Lawrence, but as a follow up  I plan to do a bit more research and try to find another author who will  tell me  more about the man.

“I deem him one of the greatest beings alive in our time. I do not see his like elsewhere. I fear whatever our need, we shall never see his like again.” ( Winston Churchill)

Now…time to  watch the movie  “Lawrence of Arabia”   one more time !!

Score:  4

Scott Anderson

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Lawrence in Arabia

  1. TracyK

    January 19, 2014 at 22:50

    This does sound very interesting. Lawrence of Arabia is one of our favorite films. If this book was challenging for you, I imagine it would be more challenging for me. But probably worth it. Great review.

     
    • N@ncy

      January 19, 2014 at 23:36

      I saw the movie once again after I read the book. Now I could pick up subtle looks and “uh-hum’ moments when the generals and politicians didn’t want to admit what they were planning behind the back of Prins Faisal. ( Alec Guinness). Little did the ‘top brass’ realize that Faisal was informed about the Sykes-Picot Agreement by Lawrence! As 12 year old watching Lawrence of Arabia for the first time…this history was beyond my reach. Now I know more…. Part 1 can be a bed tedious. Keep reading because Part 2-3 are worth it!

       
  2. Louise Minervino

    January 29, 2014 at 17:31

    “Lawrence and Aaronshon and T.E. Lawrence and Aaronshon and the Seeds of the Middle East Conflict” gives an interesting of portrait.

    The author’s thesis is that the two men got their respective consistencies involved in the war effort so that after the war, the victors would reward them with favorable treatment in the peace terms. While Lawrence is more famous, Aaronshon is more successful.

    The book is very good. It is not dense the way this one appears to be. While I got a lot out of it, I don’t casually recommend it because you have to be very interested in this topic to want to go the distance with it.

     
    • N@ncy

      January 29, 2014 at 17:41

      Thank you so much for your comments! I’m now looking for the next history book….on another subject than T.E. Lawrence. What can you suggest?

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

