RSS

2013 winners and losers

20 Dec

2013 best  foto

Reading List:           http://ipsofactodotme.wordpress.com/2013-2/

Target:      29 books

19 in French   1 in Dutch     9 in English.    I hoped to read  30 books this year…came close!

Winners:

Winners

Losers:

Losers

Surprise: :  On the Trails of Genghis Khan ( 2013)

Regret:      Wasted my time  reading  science fiction  Stranger in a Strange Land ( 1961)

Discovery:   Nevil Shute  On the Beach — I want to read more of his books!

Working:        HHhH ( L. Binet)      Lord Jim ( J. Conrad)      Pastorale 1943 ( S. Vestdijk)

Best novels  according  to one on the best newspapers in The Netherlands ( NRC ). The item  is in dutch, but you can still see what is on the list and look for it in your own language!

http://www.nrc.nl/2013/2013/12/27/de-beste-dertien-romans-van-2013/

all the books

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “2013 winners and losers

  1. heavenali

    December 20, 2013 at 20:08

    I won’t do my list of 20123 untill right at the end of December – time to read more books yet :) Sorry you were disappointed in Testamnet of Mary – I liked it but I understand why it divides people.

     
  2. Brona

    December 20, 2013 at 22:17

    Golly my headspace is nowhere near ready to tackle a year in review post! Well done for being so organised. I’m delighted to see 2 Australian titles in your best of’s.

    4 shopping days until Christmas – the 4 busiest days of my working year about to begin! The only good thing is that I get to talk books with other people who love talking about books all day :-)

     
    • N@ncy

      December 20, 2013 at 22:31

      Last year I waited until 31 Dec to post my book wrap up. This year I want to just read books these last 2 weeks. I kept the reviews short on this post because so much info can be found on the respective book reviews I’ve already written. To put it short, I’m tired of writing! Would love to hear the top 10 sellers during your Xmas season!

       
    • N@ncy

      December 20, 2013 at 22:40

      I forgot to mention….I am so happy I discovered the AusReadMonth via your blog. I plan to read more “Aussies” in 2014! You have taken the time to collect some wonderful titles as suggestions for this novice!

       
  3. Amy

    December 20, 2013 at 22:20

    29 and 19 in a foreign language is not too shabby! You’re still my hero on that front. :) I have my Kindle now (surprise from my husband), and am LOVING the one-touch word lookup for German reading. And it keeps a list of the words you look up so you can review them later. I still prefer real books for reading in English, but the device is already speeding up my German vocabulary acquisition. I might even tackle a Dutch book in 2014, thanks to your encouragement. :)

     
    • N@ncy

      December 20, 2013 at 22:37

      I have the Kindle and French dictionary on it. Trying to read Au Bagne ( A. Londres) during my Paris vacation but I was just too exhausted at the end of the day! It is so wonderful to read, click the word you are searching for….and then begin reading again! No pens, mouse, computer needed. I find reading in French just such a pleasure….the learning process is what I love. I just skimmed through your book reviews 2012 and there are so many quality books you’ve read that I want on my reading list. You outshine me in your variety….I, on the other hand, was handcuffed to Zola for many months!

       
      • Amy

        December 20, 2013 at 22:59

        Yep, variety vs. depth is such a difficult choice, and each has significant advantages. I’d like to go for more depth this year, and maybe read several titles by a German author. Zweig comes to mind, since I’ve read many of his stories in English now, and they tend to be short.

        Happy reading in 2014!

         
  4. Col

    December 21, 2013 at 06:57

    This is wow for the fact that you are SO organised (I couldn’t organise my book thoughts for the last week never mind year!). It’s wow for the fact that you read in three different languages ( I do two and even that’s only if you count that I can read Glasgow dialect!). And it’s wow for the fact that you got through that much Zola in one year! Sorry you didn’t like Testament of Mary. Hope you get on better with HhHH, another book I loved.

     
  5. Louise Minervino

    January 3, 2014 at 15:32

    2666 has been on my Mount Readmore for ages…. I really have to get to it!

     
    • N@ncy

      January 3, 2014 at 16:07

      Reader beware…this is an exhausting read, be prepared to give it your all! It is a once in a lifetime experience! I have no regrets! Non, je ne regrette rien…

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

